Write a Review

Salon Vela

Reviews

Read some of our customer reviews below.

Use the box to the right  to leave us your review  or to contact us with any questions.


Review on Yelp

"I made a same day appointment as I was in the area and needed a cut and randomly picked Salon Vela from Google. I was not disappointed. CHRIS did a great job. I am certainly going to make an effort to be a regular client of his."

- Jake G, September 21, 2017

 

"Absolutely fantastic!!! The first step inside was impressive. Everyone was so nice and professional. My stylists Christopher Perez was amazing. The attention to detail was Exquisite!! he not only asked and reviewed the type of hair I had but what I normally did with it. He than customized my cut and style based on those facts and worked with my specific requests. I mean even the products that he put in were based on those details. I've never experienced such care done to my hair that it was a bit overwhelming. I am what you consider a hair virgin. I don't really know much about maintenance or the proper way of drying one's hair but he was so happy to provide tips and even show me how to handle a brush during blow drying. I will definitely be going back for my maintenance. If you haven't found your stylist yet than I definitely recommend going to Christopher Perez or Chris for short. He will make you feel and look special. Salon Vela and Chris, thank you for such an amazing experience. They are reasonably priced and well worth it"

- Lourdes L., September 21, 2017

 

"Ron and the entire team are AMAZING (yes, all in caps!). I came to see Ron so he could help revive my sad, lifeless curly hair. Ron is a seasoned professional that knows exactly how to achieve the look you're after. I walked out with gorgeous, shiny beautiful hair.  You know that feeling girls, like you're fresh out of a hair commercial. I have finally found my hair guru in Austin,  and I've got my mojo back!"

- Mimi G., August 18, 2017

 

"I have followed Chris from his former salon to his new home at Salon Vela because he is worth it! Not only do I get the precise cut I want each time, he carefully executes the right length and dimension I ask for with each haircut. Its critical for a stylist to listen and repeat what's in a clients vision before ever touching your hair. Chris does this naturally. You will become a lifelong happy client too!"

- Erica G., August 18, 2017

 

"I am so happy that I found you guys again! I will definitely be coming back."  

- Mikella M., July 20, 2017 


"Thank you for the follow-up. I had a great experience and I have already had several comments on how great my hair looks. Chris is amazing and I will be back!"

- Rebekah L., July 20, 2017

 

"I was referred by a friend. May I say how happy I am? Rachel is my stylist. She is wonderful, and so funny. She makes my hair look great and I have such a great time with her. Never have I had highlights - she suggested something different than I would have imagined.....amazing!"

- Melanie R., July 14, 2017

 

"My first visit was lovely! I was so happy to hear from Chris Perez and get to follow him over to this new salon. The facility was chic and the atmosphere was very inviting--the gal at the front (Maria I think) was delightful. I think she's a stylist too, but was more than happy to help me book my next appointment when Chris was finishing up.  Chris was amazing and my hair looks fantastic! I am looking forward to going back in 8 weeks and recommending my friends check out this salon (and Chris!) soon!"

- Lauren G., June 28, 2017

 

"10+++ Stars!!! OMG Melinda is a lifesaver!!! For 4-years I've searched high and low for the right stylist and I've finally found her - Melinda. All the stars are in alignment now and I'm so relieved - Thank you Melinda!!!"

- Malinda S., June 20, 2017

 

"Such a great salon to get your hair done everyone there is so welcoming! I got an amazing keratin brazilian treatment done by Chris Perez. He is so nice and explained the whole process before doing my hair. If you want to get your hair done from the BEST go to Chris. You won't leave disappointed. I love my results! He left my hair so shiny and straight."

- Briana H., June 10, 2017

 

"They managed to squeeze me and my friend in just before a wedding.  Maria did an awesome braid job on my hair.  The staff were incredibly friendly, the place was clean and chic, and the work reasonably priced.  Their coffee was amazing too, surprisingly.  I definitely recommend this place, but management please give Maria a step stool.  Poor girl was on her tip-toes half the time."

 - Preston W., June 6, 2017

 

"I admit, I've never been faithful to just one stylist...but Chris has made me want to come back. I explained just what I wanted and he NAILED it! He helped me make a transition from what I had to what I really wanted. He took such good care of me, I cannot go anywhere else."

- Victoria J., May 17, 2017

 

"Rachel was great, she went above and beyond with service! "

- Mary S., April 22, 2017

 

"I am new to Austin so I haven't found a salon I love yet and I am so happy I found Salon Vela. Maria did an amazing job and I have already scheduled my next appointment with her! She did exactly what I wanted and I was very happy with how everything turned out."

- Amanda M., April 4, 2017

 

"This was my first time at your salon, and I had a great experience. Rachel was super nice and helpful! I cut about a foot off my hair (so I was nervous), but she did a great job!! I'll definitely recommend y'all to friends and family. Thanks so much!"

- Callie B., March 29, 2017

 

"I had a blast!  Rachel was fun and knowledgeable.  Really liked my lowlights and color. Will be seeing you soon!
Thanks for everything."

- Jill R., February 23, 2017

 

"Angela was great.  I love my new do."  

- Tyla G., January 26, 2017

 

"I was looking for a new stylist in my neighborhood and stopped a woman at the grocery store who had a great cut with curly hair like mine. She referred me to Angela and she did a great job.  My hair is very fine and curly and it can get really big and frizzy if you are not careful styling it.  Angela was very professional and personable.  I am returning to have my hair colored after a great experience".

- Betsy S., December 21, 2016

 

"I am so beyond happy with my visit! Gabby was amazing and I'm in love with my haircut!
I'm so happy I listened to the reviews!!".

- Henri P., November 15, 2016

 

"Really great color and cut--Gabrielle is a wizard at balayage, fun color, and highlighting. Her color is so g0od I don't notice the grow out and her cuts last weeks and weeks".

- Brenda G., October 30, 2016


"My experience at Salon Vela was nothing short of fabulous!! Thank you so much for taking the time to make me feel welcomed and listening to me. I was going to call you today to let you know how much I love my hair AND my husband absolutely loves it too!!! So happy!  

- Laurie F., October 27, 2016
 

"I can't believe I am JUST now writing a review for Salon Vela since I have been going to see Ron and Simon for over 18 years (was not always Salon Vela).  "Ron gives good hair".  He is the most amazing color specialist and stylist.  He and Simon run a beautiful, extremely well organized Salon and business. They are the perfect compliment to each other when running this business and/or otherwise!  I can not ever imagine going anywhere else.  They are very near and dear to me and I am so happy to be able to support their business.  Wouldn't have it any other way!"

- Rue D., September 19, 2016

 

"Thank you! I had a great time, Gabrielle did a great job with my color and haircut, I'm loving it!.
I look forward to my next appointment with Gabrielle!"

- Maite V., September 17, 2016
 

"Angela made me feel so comfortable and everything she did and said was so practical. Her positive and warm attitude was also just what I needed after a tough day. I'm in customer service, so trust me when I say it's hard to find! She didn't try to sell me on anything (she encouraged it, but didn't push me which I really appreciated). And I love my cut! Just the change I was hoping for. She also spoke so highly of the owners and staff when I asked about how she ended up working in your salon. Speaks highly- you should be proud."

- Aubrey S., September 15, 2016

 

"My experience was great at your new salon.  The place looks very nice, and I'm impressed with the finish out after hearing from my wife about your finds at the habitat restore.  My wife and mother-in-law have been long time loyal patrons, and I have relied on their referrals in the past. Just like at Estillo Valdez (spelling?), your staff is very professional, courteous, and great at their jobs.  I really appreciate the advice your stylist, Gabrielle, gave me (I'm attempting to grow my hair out) and love the way my hair looks.  I look forward to using y'all again in the future.

- Cliff C., August 24, 2016
 

"My visit was fantastic! I loved the work that Mel did! I am super excited to have found you guys."

- Emily A., August 10, 2016 

 

"Never going anywhere else! I've been here several times now and can say I finally found a place that I love. I first went to Angela to fix my poorly done balayage at a previous salon. She not only easily fixed it, but gave it a wonderful color. Every time I leave here, I always love my hair and have this new confidence! My usual experience at Salon Vela: You're greeted at the door by Simon and offered a drink immediately. The salon itself has a welcoming yet chic vibe. Angela first asks what I would like, then me knowing little about hair, asks for her suggestion, then I go with it. I'm very low maintenance when it comes to my morning routine and explained to her I don't do much to it, but still like color & movement. Angela always knows exactly what to recommend.  100% happy every time that I follow her advice! She always explains what products she's using and why. I've received endless compliments on my hair the last time I went (before/after pics will show her talent)- she explained that she tried a new balayage technique. Even though I'm leaving Texas soon, you can bet I'll be back to Austin just for my hair appointment (and ATX food, of course)!"

- Ashley C., August 4, 2016

 

"Salon Vela is truly my first enjoyable experience at a hair salon. Historically, I have walked out with haircuts too short or inaccurate to my provided reference so I had hardly gone to many. That has totally never been the case with my experiences at Salon Vela! I went in for an initial balayage and then an ombre application. Rachel took on my hair and questions with ease and excitement, much to my delight. :) Since then, getting my hair done at Salon Vela is an event that I look forward to every time!"

- Missy L., June 28, 2016

 

"Really pleased with Rachel and her color/cut of my hair. She is delightful."

- Jeanne C., June 16, 2016

 

"The entire experience was wonderful, from my check-in to the check-out and everything in between.  Angela was amazing:  friendly, patient, and efficient.  She really cared about giving me a look that I would love.  She made it very easy to want to book my next appointment with her.  This was my first time there and I will definitely be back"

- Mara H., June 14, 2018

 

"AWESOME place. Their customer service is as good as it gets!"

- Renata M., June 8, 2016 

 

"Everything was great! Gabrielle was amazing. I will definitely be back. Thank you so much!"

- Winne C., June 7, 2016

 

"I had a wonderful experience at Salon Vela and will surely be back! My hair has gotten many compliments and Rachel really was the sweetest. My only request is can you please have Rachel send me the befores and afters she took on her phone of my before and after balayage. I'd love to be able to brag on social media about her! Thank you so much."  

- Kate G., May 31, 2016

 

"It was a great experience, Gabrielle is Awesome, loved my cut n color, see you in June😊"

- Linda L., May 28, 2016

 

"Salon Vela has figured it out!  I have never been to a salon like this one.  They have compartmentalized the customer service aspect to the business from the stylists themselves.  I was called ahead of my appointment to confirm by Simon wore many hats and served as the customer service rep in this case.  When my scheduled time had to be change, Simon took care of it promptly.  He was my greeter, checked me in and out for my appointment, answered the phone, and sent follow-up emails.  This really is an excellent touch and lets the stylists do what they do best...hair! The stylists did not have to worry about managing appointments, calling for follow-ups, answering phones.  All salons should take up this model.

As for my stylist, she was great and super knowledgeable.  I will definitely be going back to Salon Vela in the future."

- Cristina K, May 25, 2016

 

"I was thrilled with my visit with Rachel! She did a fabulous job!"

- Emily R., May 25, 2016

 

"First visit to the salon and loved it. Rachel is great I went in not knowing what I wanted she gave some suggestions and did just what I wanted. She is my new person."

- Jene H., May 20, 2016 

 

"I really liked Angela and look forward to my next appointment with her."

- Barbara W., May 11, 2016

 

"I can't say enough about Rachel! Super great stylist. The service at Salon Vela was top notch! I just moved to ATX from Houston and was nervous about getting my hair done by someone new. So glad I chose her for my cut and balayage. It turned out amazing. I wanted her to cut more length off and she told me to wait until she was finished, and she was right it's exactly what I wanted and it looks great. She listens to what you want but also steers you in the right direction. She helped me pick some products that I was missing from my routine as well. I'd recommend her to anyone!"

- Brittany L., May 3, 2016

   

"My first time there was with mel. She was super sweet and accommodating. Beautiful place. I received complimentary wine and a hand massage. she did an amazing job on my hair."

- Brittney B., March 27, 2016

 

"Everything was perfect! So glad to have found your salon! You and staff are very professional. Gabrielle was amazing and really knows her stuff and I appreciated that she talked me through the process."

- Kirsten S., March 9, 2016


"Great experience and I love my haircut. Thanks Mel!"

- Sandy B., March 8, 2016

 

"LOVE the color!! Rachel is Fabulous!"

- Tamara C., January 28, 2016


I am so glad I found this place Gabrielle was amazing very pleasant informative and talked me through the entire process I felt completely at ease and comfortable with trusting her to do it the way I wanted she understood completely and it came out better than I could have imagined thank you so much Gabrielle you made this mother of two feel young and hot again :)".

      - Tiffany C., January 28, 2016


"Thank you so much! I loved Angela. She knew exactly what I wanted even though we had met that day. Hopeful that you're Yelp deal will remain available so I can come back in a few months!!  Thanks again."

  - Kayla A., January 12, 2016

 

"Love my hair cut! Gabrielle understood what I wanted and created a proper cut for my face. I will be back for my next cut. 
Thanks!!!!" 

 - Joanna H., January 12, 2016


"My first visit was excellent! Gabrielle worked some serious magic on my hair, she's the first stylist to be able to get my hair back to my natural color! I'm in a wedding this weekend and I'm so glad she was able to fix my hair and make it look amazing!"

 - Caryn S., December 8, 2015

 

"I only have good things to say about Salon Vela. I have thick hair and a LOT of it so it can be difficult/tedious to work with. I've hopped from one stylist to the next, but I'm here to stay now that I've found some awesome stylists! I first came in for a balayage with Angela and it was gorgeous! The second time, I had Mel cut my hair since Angela wasn't available. After living with it for a couple days, I decided it was still too much volume and had Mel thin it out some more during my lunch break. Very accommodating, super quick, and absolutely what I wanted!! I recently chopped off more of my length with Angela. I couldn't find a photo of the exact cut I wanted so I spouted off some vague desires and Angela gave me EXACTLY what I wanted. They know their stuff and boy, are they good at it. Besides getting rid of what feels like a ton of weight off my shoulders after a cut, I also look forward to the shampoo scalp massages. Angela and Mel make tingles run down my spine with the shampooing. It feels amazing!! I also need to give kudos to Simon, who manages the phones and appointments. He has a lovely, calming voice and his customer service is top notch."

- Tomi Y., December 3, 2015

 

"My visit was terrific. The consultation was very thorough and inspired some new ideas. The color and cut are awesome."

- Margie N., November 30, 2015

 

"Thank you so much!! I'm absolutely in LOVE with my hair!!! Rachel did such a fantastic job!! Y'all are so sweet thank you so much for giving me my dream hair!! :)"

- Amanda V., October 16, 2015


"So this review is long overdue as I have been a client of Gabrielle's for almost a year now! But after my most recent visit, I was once again thrilled with my new color. I had a partial highlight on top of my usual one step color and chose burgundy. Gabrielle chose a very complimentary shade for my skin color and in the past she was very honest with me about some of my ideas and what I could expect...I truly appreciated this!!! I have received so many compliments from friends and strangers. She has also done a fine job on a keratin treatment and helping me to grow out my hair through the awkwardness!!! Anyways, its about time I went ahead and wrote this up, I could say so much more complimentary things about her and Salon Vela. Thank you for offering coffee and hand massages btw!!! I highly recommend Gabrielle if you are looking to try a hair color or texture change!"

- Jeanette M., September 22, 2015


"...Rachel did a great job... Nice to meet both of you."

- Cara K., September 22, 2015


"Rachel knows what she's doing!!! She's great at finding the perfect haircut, color, and has awesome customer service skills!!! Soooo happy I've found her!!! I enjoy my time with her and the whole staff at Salon Vela!"

- Teresa V., September 20, 2015


"My visit at the salon was great! I'm very happy with Angela's work."

- Maris F., September 19, 2015


"Rachel is the bee's knees its legs and its arms"

- Londell A., September 17, 2015


"This was awesome! I already recommended a friend! Rachel is so nice!"

- Angela H., August 26, 2015


"I moved to Austin about 1 year ago and I have been looking for a hair stylist ever since. I stopped by yesterday on my lunch hour and was greeted with so much kindness and patience. Rachel was so very wonderful. She was very patient with me when I was trying to explain what I wanted. I was all over the place and she made me feel very at ease. She fit me into her schedule the same day,which is a good thing for I almost talked myself out of cutting 9 inches off my hair. She did a FANTASTIC job and has a client for as long as she is cutting hair. I loved everyone's personalities and felt right at home. THANK YOU SO MUCH RACHEL!!!! I love my new hair style and more importantly so does my husband. See you in 6 weeks"

- Vicky M., August 20, 2015


"I absolutely loved my experience at Salon Vela!! From the moment I walked in, I felt welcomed and comfortable with the friendly staff. I was very pleased with the one-on-one advice I received from my stylist after I got my new haircut. It was so helpful to learn ways and products to maintain the look :) thank you!"

- Katy E., August 13, 2015


"Rachel did a fantastic job yesterday. I love my new hair!"

- Suzanne O., July 29, 2015


"I thoroughly enjoyed my first visit to the salon. Melinda was awesome. I'll be back!"

- Mary B., July 28, 2015


"I can't thank you enough for my first experience. I will admit I was very nervous about finding a new salon. But the moment I called and booked the appointment I knew I found the right place because Simon took the time to ask me about my hair type so he could pair me with a stylist. I cannot say enough positive things about Gabrielle. The moment I met her all my nerves went out the window. She really took the time to explain the process to me and educated me about my hair. I'm definitely sending more people your way. Thank you all so much again."

- Courtney B., July 18, 2015


"I popped in for a trim the other day with no appointment. I had some time and I looked on yelp for something close by. Gabrielle was available right when I walked in, and what a pleasure!!! She was sweet and efficient, and I will be back for sure"

- Elizabeth B., July 14, 2015


"I recently moved to Austin and found Salon Vela on yelp! As it had really positive reviews, I decided to book an appointment with them. I wasn't disappointed. This salon obviously has all of these great reviews for a reason. As I needed a slight color correction (due to blonde hair and the San Marcos river not being the best of friends) as well as highlights and a cut, I wasn't sure whether or not they could help me. Luckily they could. Rachel looked after me and she was such a nice, friendly and talented stylist. I loved how my hair turned out and I loved the relaxed vibe of the salon! I will definitely be returning here when I next need my hair colored! Keep up the great work you guys!"

- Maria R., July 12, 2015


"This is a loooong over due review of Salon Vela. I have difficult hair- mostly curly/ frizzy, but with a random bit of straight at the back. I can count on one hand the number of times I've had a good hair cut before salon Vela. Some highlights: Simon asked me to describe my hair when I made my first appointment. He went beyond the normal "Curly or Straight" and got me to give an actual description of my hair. Ron, my stylist, asked me about my normal hair routine (wash, product, go), and actually gave me a cut that works for me- too many stylists have tried to convince me to blow dry it. I'm just never going to take the time to do that, and Ron was totally understanding. Ron never tried to upsell me on anything. As he said, he isn't a product snob. He used wonderful products in my hair but never pushed me to buy them. He even suggested some things I could just get at the grocery store Ron suggested I get a hair cut every 4 months since I'm trying to grow my hair out and its so curly, which I appreciated because it was clear he was trying to make sure I looked my best, rather than trying to get me to pay for unnecessary cuts like some stylists would. My first hair cut still looked so good after 4 months that I considered skipping my next appointment. I went in anyway and I don't know how he did it, but Ron made it look even more amazing. Overall, Salon Vela is great- they dealt with my difficult hair and have always been incredibly kind and professional. I trust them so much I'm thinking about trying highlights. I know the staff would never let me leave with anything less than hair perfection."

- Thea L., June 10, 2015


"I love Ron! He is a wonderful person and has a plan for my hair that is exactly what I've been searching for since moving to Austin two years ago. No more trauma!! LOL! Looking forward to my next visit..."

- Debra B., June 5, 2015


"I had an excellent experience at Salon Vela. My stylist, Angela, was incredibly sweet and attentive. She understood my vision exactly and I couldn't be happier with the result! By far one of the best salon experiences I've ever had..."

- Emily H., May 20, 2015


"After recently moving from NYC to Austin I was really worried I wouldn't be able to find a great hair place down here. I found Salon Vela online and made an appointment with Mel for high/lowlights. They called to ask me to come in a half hour early in order to have enough time for a consultation before starting on my hair, which I appreciated since I've been trying to get my hair to a specific shade of blonde for almost 2 years now.

Mel was an absolute doll and took the time to thoroughly discuss my hair and the color I was looking for. I am naturally dirty blonde but after years of golden/brassy highlights I wanted to go back to my natural color with a few face-framing highlights as well as highlights at the ends. Mel showed me a few pictures once she got an idea of what I wanted and then got to work mixing colors/etc. The process included both foils for highlights and balayage low lights, and the experience was beyond enjoyable. Even included a hand massage during my time under the heat lamp!

After spending the past 2 years in and out of top salons in NY, CT, and now Austin, my hair is FINALLY the color/shade I've been trying to achieve. I am beyond happy with my color (and I'm very picky when it comes to my hair) and will be going back to Melanie from now on for any hair needs!

If you're looking for a new salon and/or stylist, Mel is amazing and Salon Vela are worth checking out"

- Alexandra W., May 16, 2015


"I was pleased! Melinda really knows curls. Loving my cut this morning. I appreciate the convenient location too!"

- Amy S., April 11, 2015


"Thanks so much! Everything was perfect, I love my cut and color and will definitely be back!"

- Rachel, March 31, 2015


"I had a wonderful visit with Gabrielle and absolutely love the color she gave me! I look forward to coming back in soon."

- Jennifer, March 24, 2015


"Love the color, love Gabrielle! thanks."

- Barbara, March 16, 2015


"I was very happy with my experience at Salon Vela. Melinda did a great job! I will be back soon."

- Ann, February 12, 2015


"I enjoyed my experience & got a good haircut !"

- Ayree, January 8, 2015


"AWESOME experience today with Lucy for a balayage appointment. I wasn't sure what I wanted going in but after scrolling through my pinterest, she had some great suggestions and came up with a color and look that I love! The rest of the staff was fantastic as well, super helpful and a great experience. I'll definitely return :)"

- Kim, January 3, 2015


"I loved Salon Vela. The staff was very sweet and highly skilled. I have lived in the city for two years and this is my favorite salon."

- Jae, December 21, 2014


"I really did enjoy my visit. After fighting peek hour traffic to get there for a 4:45pm visit your offer of a glass of wine upon arrival couldn't have been more welcomed and I had not even met Lucy, my hair stylist. Lucy was very pleasant and patient throughout my I'll directed instructions on what to do with the hair on my head. The music and ambience of the salon was warm and relaxing. I really enjoyed the complimentary hand massage followed by some great trashy magazines to read. Thanks for the experience. I've had several compliments from friend a about my hair color, thanks Lucy for your recommendation."

- Michelle, December 20, 2014


"I just had the best hair salon experience of my life! I had an appointment with Luci and after really taking the time to discuss my hair and my routine, she recommended something I had always wanted to try. I am SO glad I did! I love my hair for the first time in a long time and my fiancée says I won't stop smiling. I can't wait to show everyone my hair! Thanks Luci for everything. I totally recommend anyone with curly out of control hair to go to Luci, she will tame the mane and make you feel fantastic in the process."

- Michele, December 11, 2014​